FFA Leadership Teams Compete

leadership 1
Quiz Team members Tallon Stevens, Weston Smith, Jadden McMahon, and Mariah Cofield
11-1-17 MHS Leadership Development 2.
Radio Broadcasting Team members Matthew Hasler and Bailey Green. Not pictured: Jackie Malinosky.
11-1-17 MHS Leadership Development 3
Junior Quiz Team member, Weston Smith
Leadership Development
Public Relations Team members: Weston Smith, Jake Clark, Ja'Tana Sabboth, Matthew Hasler.
Leadership Development
Agricultural Advocacy Team members: Marrissa Williams, Michael Smith, Skylar Clark, Israel Gonzalez, Jessica Stanford
Leadership Development
Senior Creed Speaker: Jackie Malinosky
Marshall FFA’s Leadership Development teams traveled to Alba-Golden High School Tuesday, Oct. 31, to compete against over 50 other teams from across the state for the first time this year.

Leadership Development Events focus on creating situations for members to demonstrate their abilities in public speaking, decision making, communication and their knowledge of agriculture and the FFA organization. Team and individual events are used to reinforce what is taught in agricultural science classrooms.

Marshall FFA was represented by 18 students competing in nine different contests Tuesday. These included:

Agricultural Advocacy: This contest is designed to inform the general public and consumers about the importance and value of the agriculture industry and how agriculture impacts human lives. Marshall FFA's Agricultural Advocacy team members include: Israel Gonzalez, Skylar Clark, Marrissa Williams, Jessica Stanford, and Michael Williams.

Job Interview: At the competition, each member submits their resume, completes a job application for an agricultural position on site and participates in an interview via telephone, in person one-on-one and with a panel of possible employers. The Marshall FFA Job Interview participant is Ja'Tana Sabboth.

Creed Speaking: A member presents the FFA Creed from memory and answers questions about its meaning and purpose. This event is just one way to boost self-confidence, earn recognition, and develop powerful, organized and professional communication skills. Our Senior Creed Speaker is Jackie Malinosky.

Radio Broadcasting: A team of 3 members presents an informative radio program covering one or more agricultural subjects that is current in nature and local in content. The contest assumes that the chapter has a regularly scheduled non-commercial radio program once each month over a local station. Our Marshall FFA Radio Broadcasting Team includes Bailey Green, Jackie Malinosky, and Matthew Hasler.

Public Relations: A team of between two and four FFA members develops and presents a 5-8 minute program to inform a specified target audience regarding the Texas FFA and what it represents. The presentation is developed assuming that the target audience has no knowledge of the FFA. Team members are asked questions in response to their program following the presentation. Marshall FFA's Public Relations team is Jake Clark, Matthew Hasler, Ja'Tana Sabboth, and Chris Collier.

FFA Quiz: An exam testing team members’ understanding of the FFA, agricultural education, current agricultural events and parliamentary procedure is given. Teams can be made of 3 or 4 members. There are Junior and Senior Teams in this contest. Marshall FFA's Senior Team includes: Tallon Stevens, Jadden McMahon, and Mariah Cofield. The Junior Team is made up of Weston Smith, Marrissa Williams, and Jessica Stanford.

FFA Skills: A team of 3-5 members performs an actual demonstration of an agricultural skill including anything in the Agricultural Science and Technology curriculum using effective public speaking and communication methods. The Marshall FFA Skills team is: Colby Chambers, Katelynn Richardson, Zacarria Green, and Lane Howard.

Marshall students will compete at two more invitational contests, open to all schools across the state no matter their size, before the district contest on Monday, Nov. 13, in Waskom. Marshall will be looking to advance from the district round to area.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.